Sandra Semburg

Sandra Semburg
photo: Raphaël Lugassy

Sandra’s all time dream when she was growing up in Berlin was to be an actress.

At the age of just 19 she took her dream in her suitcase (gutsy kid!) and moved to New York where she studied at the famous Lee Strasberg Theatre Institute while working side jobs to support herself. She had already developed an interest in photography when she realized she could make a few extra bucks by taking pictures of her fellow actors for their professional headshots.

The feedback she was getting on these became increasingly loud so she then enrolled at Brooklyn College to pursue cinematography and explore the other side of the lense.

In the 9 years she lived in New York Sandra navigated the whole spectrum of imagemaking: from shooting random portraits via craigslists on medium format film to assisting world famous photographers, or interships at Milk Studios and Art & Commerce. She also gained experience in a number of magazines meaning she understands the art of the layout.

Using her 10 years of comprehensive practise, Sandra launched her blog in 2011 after covering her first year of fashion weeks. A Love Is Blind now simply renamed Sandra Semburg, became a global sensation earning this year’s Bloglovin’ awards for best street style and a great community of followers on instagram which is a medium Sandra understands perfectly.

Sandra is known for natural and bright fashion portraits and candid moments full of energy. Considering the fast pace of the fashion weeks she had to develop a defined eye for fashion which is now her signature.

A special correspondent of fashion week for Vogue.fr for the last two seasons, Sandra’s client base includes Chloé, Clarins, Longchamp, Guerlain, Vogue.de, Glamour US, Vogue US, Vogue Russia, Net-a-Porter and others.

Here is a video portrait of her.

Sandra Semburg

Sandra Semburg
photo: Raphaël Lugassy

Le grand rêve de la jeune berlinoise Sandra Semburg est de devenir actrice.

Alors à l’âge de 19 ans elle fait ses valises (du cran la gamine!) et déménage à New York où elle étudie pendant deux ans au célèbre Lee Strasberg Theatre Institute en subsistant grâce à des petits boulots. Elle avait déjà exploré la photographie comme moyen d’expression théâtrale lorsqu’elle se rend compte qu’elle peut se faire un peu d’argent en photographiant ses camarades acteurs pour leurs books.

Devant le succès de ces portraits, elle décide de s’inscrire au Brooklyn College pour poursuivre cette fois des études cinématographiques et passer de l’autre côté de l’objectif.

Durant les 9 ans où elle vit à New York, Sandra explore toutes les facettes du travail à l’image: depuis le portrait via craigslist et la photo moyen format, jusqu’à l’assistanat de photographes prestigieux, en passant par des stages aux studios Milk et chez Art & Commerce ou au sein d’une rédaction de magazine.

Sandra lance son blog en 2011 suite à sa première fashion week. A Love Is Blind aujourd’hui simplement renommé Sandra Semburg devient rapidement une référence et a été élu cette année meilleur site de street style par les Bloglovin’ awards. Sandra fédère aussi une incroyable communauté de followers sur instagram, un réseau social qu’elle maîtrise parfaitement.

Reconnue pour ses portraits naturels ainsi que pour ses prises de vue sur le vif et pleines d’énergie, Sandra – poussée par le rythme frénétique des fashion week – a su développer un oeil pointu pour la mode, devenu aujourd’hui sa signature.

Correspondante spéciale fashion week du Vogue.fr depuis deux saisons, les clients de Sandra incluent: Chloé, Clarins, Longchamp, Guerlain mais aussi Vogue.de, Glamour US, Vogue US, Vogue Russia, Net-a-Porter et bien d’autres.

Voici un portrait video d’elle ici.